FC Barcelona

More Than A Club!

FC Barcelona was founded by a group of foreigners, led by Joan Gamper, in 1899 in the Catalan capital of Barcelona.

Barça quickly became a symbol of Catalan identity and hence its motto 'Més que un club' - 'More than a club' - and this sentiment is emphasised by the fact that FC Barcelona is owned by its supporters.

Barça is the world's second richest football club in financial terms after Real Madrid, their great rival.

At the time of writing, amongst the major trophies the club has won in Spain are 22 Spanish Ligas, 26 Copas del Rey and 10 Supercopas de España whilst Barça have won

four UEFA Champions League trophies, four UEFA Cup Winners' Cups, four UEFA Super Cups, a record three Inter-Cities Fairs Cups as well as a record two FIFA Club World Cups.

Barça along with Real Madrid and Athletic Club are one of the three clubs never to have been relegated from Spain's Primera Liga or First Division since its inception in 1928.

Furthermore, Barcelona is the only club to have participated in some kind of European competition every season since the launching of the European Cup in 1955.

In 2009, Barcelona became the first Spanish club to win the La Liga, Copa del Rey, and Champions League treble.

Later that same year, Barça also became the first football club ever to win six out of six competitions in a single calendar year, thus completing the sextuple, comprising the aforementioned treble plus the Spanish Super Cup, UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup.

FC Barcelona play in the fabulous Camp Nou stadium, which with a capacity of nearly 100,000 spectators, is the largest stadium in Europe.

Their fans are known as culers in Catalan or culés in Spanish.

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.